Follow this page: RSS


Christopher Davis has been selected as a 2016-2017 Library Resident Research Fellow at the American Philosophical Society (APS) through the generous support of the Eugene Garfield Fellowship. Davis will spend a month at the APS Library in Philadelphia, PA to conduct research for his dissertation on the American eugenics movement.

Congratulations to history major Rosabel Gomez, who will be interning with the Smithsonian National Museum of American History in the Division of Culture and the Arts. Rosabel will be working in the Graphic Arts Collection. As part of her duties, she will be accessioning, cataloguing, and scanning prints, arranging and describing incoming collections, conducting basic research on artists and subjects, and numbering and storing the prints.

Congratulations to history majors Elysée Yhuel and Maria Rodriguez, who were recently inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Society for their outstanding academic performance. We are proud of their hard work.

Congratulations to Dr. Jenna Gibbs, Dr. April Merleaux, Dr. Bianca Premo, who have both been named as FIU Top Scholars. They will receive their awards formally at a ceremony on April 25.

As Associate Editor of JWAH (Journal of West African History), Dr. Hilary Jones is one of the organizers of the upcoming launch conference to celebrate the publication of the first three issues of the journal. The conference will interrogate the state of the field and examine critical issues facing the region of West Africa today. The conference will take place at Michigan State University (East Lansing, Michigan) from April 8-April 9. The event is free and open to the public.

More information

Dr. Otovo presented her paper, "Serving the Nation and Securing the Race: Mothers of Color, Household Labor, and Trabalhista Politics," at the Brazilian Studies Association international congress held at Brown University (March 31-April 2, 2016). She also organized the panel, "Reproducing Politics, Gendering Health, and Situating Maternity as Practice," and served as moderator for a panel on, "Tropical Wellbeing: Perspectives on Public Health in Brazilian History."

More information

Dr. April Merleaux wrote an Op-Ed for the Miami Herald encouraging the public to come to Fragile Habitat: Conversations for Miami's Future on April 8th. Click the link for more information and free tickets.

More information

Congratulations to Dr. April Merleaux for publishing her article "Sugar, Surveillance, and Citizenship: The Global Crisis of 1919–20 in Buenos Aires and New York" in the Journal Global Food History.

More information

Congratulations to FIU History doctoral student Grace Solis, who has received a most competitive award from the Institute for New Economic Thinking at Harvard University's Joint Center for History and Economics. This award will support Grace as she pursues her dissertation, "Female Journalists, Popular Didacticism and Nation Building in the Andes, 1870-1900."

In his book, "Fatal Love: Spousal Killers, Law, and Punishment in the Late Colonial Spanish Atlantic", Dr. Uribe looks back to the 18th and early 19th centuries to identify the historical intersection of domestic violence, state and church patriarchy, and the law. Join us on Tuesday, March 1 at Books & Books, 8 PM.

More information